Code of Conduct

Default Montale reviews - I'm new at this, so be kind!

I recently received some Montale samples from "maisonstinky" here at Basenotes. Since there aren't many reviews in the Directory yet, I figured I'd take a shot at reviewing some frags here in a thread. As the subject line mentions, I'm pretty inexperienced at doing reviews like this, and my nose can only work with the notes it knows. So, feel free to add your comments, corrections, or additions. (BTW, I think "maisonstinky" may still be selling these samples for anyone who might be interested.)

Attar: A very interesting scent. It's intense and yet streamlined, not chaotic. To me it feels like there are only a few notes in the mix, but what is there is concentrated yet pleasant. I would say it is a dry sandalwood and spice fragrance, with oud richness. (To me, oud seems to add an "aura" to fragrances, like a wet cloud that gives them weight and density.) The rose in this scent doesn't strike me as strong or as being the same as the rose I’m used to in men’s scents. It adds a dry and almost herbal floral note to the mix, not the sweet rose that I am used to. I don't know I would have even guessed there is rose in this scent if it wasn't in the notes. Attar is a dry, smooth, focused, and intense sandalwood and spices scent with a floral touch. These few notes blend to create a scent that really is unlike anything else I can think of at the moment. Very good longevity and projection.

Black Aoud: I find this to be almost a leather scent, which I don't think Montale lists it as. Dark, moist, leather and deep rose. Very good longevity. A truly manly rose. I like it better than most of the others I've tried including: Voleur de Roses, Iquitos, Malle's Une Rose, and Ungaro III. The only other men’s “rose” scents I've liked as much were C&S no. 88 and Villoresi Musk. Good company to be in!