Code of Conduct

Thread: Only Guerlain

Default Only Guerlain

I recently started playing again with my big box of samples, decants, and minis.

When I first started my last search for a new cologne several months ago, I expected to end up wearing one of those "Guerlains." I new the name, had a small sense of the image, kind of the Ferrari of luxury fragrances, the classics. I'd never smelled one. But somehow I always ended up with the classics.

Because of Basenotes I discovered niche houses, the gourmand trend, all of that. I bought a few bottles of gourmands, wasn't satisfied. I ordered a bunch of samples. Funny the first sample I tried was L'Instant and I knew right then, on first wearing, that this was probably the sig that I was looking for. But I kind of rebelled against the idea of going with the classics, I wanted something more exotic or quirky. More individual.

So I tried a bunch of things, smelled everything in the local shops (perfumania plus, etc) Spent a bunch more on samples and minis, all of the major houses. Tried many of the wondrous niche houses: Lutens, Diptyque, L'Artisan, etc. Had samples flown in from France: Divine, Frederic Malle.

After I'd literally spent hundreds on all of this, there was only one choice: L'Instant de Guerlain PH. I would've also picked up a bottle of Heritage during that sale, but I couldn't find an unopened box. Those were also the only two frags that I found myself recommending to others. Heritage for formal, L'Instant PH for everything else.