Code of Conduct

Default Newbie question, not in FAQ

I suppose if you REALLY stretch it, it'd go under a recommendation topic, but I am not asking for that. ;D

Great community btw not everyday you see a forum so civil.

anyway, here's my question to you cologne veterans out there:

How'd you settle on what suited you? I know the short answer to that is experiment and trial and error, but along the way, something or someone must've steered you towards that direction?

Trying to look for that answer right now. Granted I'm VERY new to this and I only have 2 scents in my possession right now (Romance silver and He), and a trip to Sephora today didn't yield much in terms of finding what I like. (tried M7, L'Eau par Kenzo and JV) I mean, I could tell you what I DON'T like about all 5 scents; but I'd be hardpressed to tell you what I like about em. (I could with some effort with romance, the rest would take some effort)

So how'd you guys do it, and how long did it take for you to found what you like? Is it purely personal peference? Or did female input come into play as well (I'd imagine this has a lot of weight in the equation)

thanks

Default Re: Newbie question, not in FAQ

That's a good (and valid) question!

A lot of the scents I love were actually "love at first sniff." These are scents that I took a strong liking to just because I liked the way they came across or how they developed on my skin. I know that may not be the kind of answer you're looking for, but it's the only one I can give. Like a favorite song....the first time you heard it, there was something that drew you in.......melodic hook, guitar tone, drum beat, singer's voice........whatever! It came across to your ears and you were drawn in. Scents have the same effect!

I admit, there are a few frags that took me some "acquaintance time," to kinda "get" a scent and understand it. Eventually liking it and being comfortable in it. But believe me........there's NOTHING like "love at first sniff!!"