Code of Conduct

Thread: Creed Longevity

Default Creed Longevity

Folks,

I'm pretty new to the world of per d'fume, but thanks to you basenoters, I've probably gotten off on the right track. I have been fortunate enough to obtain some 10ml samples of GIT, Bois du Portugal, Baie de Genievre, Vintage Tabarome, and Cuir de Russie, as well as 1 ml samples of Original Vetiver, Millesime Imperial, and Selection Verte (thanks Buffalo Gal!).

Although my nose is rather inexperienced for smelling things other than food (which I can smell from a rather impressive distance), I love each of these fragrances. Even to my untrained and ill-mannered nose, these all have such depth and character, I don't really care if others like them or not; I feel like a million bucks wearing them. Unfortunately, most of these do not last long on my skin.

Some, like GIT, VT, and BdP last 4-8 hours, but Original Vetiver is gone in just over an hour, and Baie de Genievre (which is simply amazing) lasts only a couple hours. Dunhill Edition and Guerlain Vetiver gloriously linger all day with no problem.

Is this common, or do I need a new body chemistry? I'd happily pay the deductible if my health plan would cover some elective endocrinological treatment of some sort - even surgery if need be.

Otherwise, I suppose I could just carry a small amount of my scent o' the day and recharge midway through the day, like some pathetic, middle-aged scent junkie, huffing frags in the lavatory stall. (Speaking of Scent Junkies, will that band ever get back together?)

What say you, my basenote brethren?

Default Re: Creed Longevity

I seem to strike this problem too with a lot of frags. It's always disappoiniting when a frag you fall in love with turns out to be poor longevity. I don't have the time or ability to respray in the afternoon.