Code of Conduct

Default Suggestions for a slightly less pungent ALLURE?

Hi everybody,

I'm fairly new to fragrance. Currently I have:

212 for Men
    Gendarme
    Higher by Dior
    Bvlgari pour Homme
    Millesime Imperial
    and
    Allure by Chanel

I'm pretty happy with most of them, apart from Gendarme and Higher. Higher I find to completely one-dimensional (and very artificial), while Gendarme smells of nothing but soap.

Bvlgari and MI I bought on Basenotes recommendations, and I think they're lovely fragrances. 212 is also an impressive, urban scent. It was my signature for quite some time. However, the only oriental I have is Allure.

I find Allure quite captivating - it has tremendous staying power, and some delicious notes. However, I do find it somewhat overwhelming, and on occasion it can become rather sickly. Can anyone suggest some orientals that are perhaps a little less strong? Because I don't own others, I'm not sure if Allure is considered a powerful oriental - it is powerful to me though.

I would love to find a fragrance with the projection capability and staying power of an oriental like Allure, but with the daytime wearability of an MI or Bvlgari. Would Creed's Himalaya fit that description? I think for a fragrance to be sexy, you have to reasonably confident that others can actually smell it - and with MI, I'm never sure about that after a couple of hours. With Allure, it's with me until the next morning! It's drydown is so comforting - I love catching a sniff of its basenotes - so warm and masculine.

Thanks in advance for your advice guys.

Sneak

Default Re: Suggestions for a slightly less pungent ALLURE

i haven't tried this myself, but you could consider Allure Homme Sport. i hear it's less cloying.
    [SIZE=1][COLOR=RoyalBlue]
    Traveller, there is no path. You make the path as you walk. -- A. Machado[/COLOR][/SIZE]

Quote Originally Posted by liquid