Code of Conduct

Default Money/Basenote-Swappers/Sellers

I want to thank those who sell atomizers and decanters such that we can experience the plethora of scents out there before biting the bullet. Besides the service part, do any of you guys see your selling as a business? And if so, is there significant money to be made outside of basenotes in the real world?

This whole cologne hobby is a wallet drainer, and I love spending my money wisely (as I'm only a student who is tight in the money department). Any cologne moneypinchers out there can offer some wise words of wisdom in spending money.

On the side note, how does one respond to the pricing of fragrances in that a 1.7 costs 50 dollars and a 3.4 costs 70 on an economic level? I know that there are simple considerations such as the usage/love for the fragrance and sometimes 3.4 oz is just too much. As for decants, I can't see myself shelling out 12 bucks for a non-niche sample when I can buy a bottle of cologne for 30 off of ebay (but then the risk of buying it blind kicks in). When it comes to niche and more expensive products, I'm more understanding. Simply when it comes to buying cologne, it seems like if you pay a little more, you get more for your money but then there's still an aspect of loss. How do you reconcile with this?

Sorry if this sounds rather rambleish... I hope someone understands where I'm heading.

Default Re: Money/Basenote-Swappers/Sellers

I'm only 25 so I'm in the same money boat as you. I'm out of college, but student loans and the salary of a post-college job (plus the financial aspects of thinking ahead for grad school) sure do make money management important.

My solution is just to not buy that many. My birthday is Tuesday and I'll be buying 3 or 4 (or more) bottles because I don't really know what I want except clothes and fragrance. So as a reward for staying alive another year, I'll put in $200 or so as wardrobe maintenance. I'll buy some more at Christmas.