Code of Conduct

Default Help find a new scent in the same class?

Newbie here!

I don't have much expertise with fragrances, and am looking for a new scent.

I just finished off a bottle of Acqua di Gio, which my fiance really likes. Rather than get another bottle of a quite commonplace cologne, I'm trying to find something similar, but more unique. More advanced. More sophisticated and niche?

I've read hundreds of posts here the last week, and have some idea of where to go but would love some help.

If I wanted to stay along the same lines of the Acqua di Gio, what are some recommendations that people have that are similar?

I don't have a complete understanding of all the "notes" or "classes" yet. Can anyone lay out the strongest notes in Acqua di Gio for me to compare to others? From the directory here, the notes listed are: Top Notes
    Jasmine, Rosemary, Hespiradic Notes; Middle Notes: Persimmon Fruits, Marine Notes; Base Notes:
    Cedar, Patchouli, White Musk, Rock Rose

I guess for me trying to find something similar, its hard at this point to think in my head "ah yes, thats hespiradic" not knowing what in the world hespiradic even is in the first place.

Is the class considered marine? aquatic? are they synonyms?

Reading the forums, I am also VERY interested in trying out some of the more niche or upper-scale scents for their complexity and exclusivity. I have read a lot about the Creed house scents.

Is there a Creed scent that is a home-run for those who like Acqua di Gio?

What about other houses?

Lots of questions, I'm sorry! I really appreciate any advice!

In due time, I'll probably be looking for a new night-time scent, but I'm focusing first on something appropriate for work, not too overpowering or even offending to some. Ideally I think something that isnt too strong, not the first thing people notice about me, but when my fiance comes closer... she cant help but start drooling

By the way, I'm in my late 20s, if that helps steer any.