Code of Conduct

Default Best/proper way to apply cologne?

I'd check the FAQ, but the links don't work..sorry

I did a bit of searching on the net. It seems the best way is no more than 2 sprays, directly onto your hands, and rub it into your neck, chest, etc. Needless to say, I've not been doing it this way at all.. I usually spray my wrist and then rub it against the other wrist, then spray twice onto my upper chest.

So..any suggestions?

Default Re: Best/proper way to apply cologne?

I have been wearing fragrances since the mid 1960's and I have always done the following:

- Spray each wrist and both sides of the neck before leaving home.
    - Spray a little on both sides of shirt before leaving for lunch.
    - When leaving work, reapply like the morning and before lunch but very lightly.

Heavy sprays for light fragrances, medium sprays for regular strength fragrances and light sprays for heavy fragrances.

For heavy fragrances, I like to buy a minitures and use them before lunch and before leaving the office rather than spraying.

For light fragrances, I also spray the back of the neck or behind the ears.

I try to use the bath products in the morning when available.

I learned here at Basenotes, that rubbing the fragrance clouds the scent, and I no longer do that.

If you find a particular scent has little staying power through the day, try a few spritzes on your hair and if you have chest hair (you big manly man you), spray it there as well. Hair tends to absorb and disperse scent longer than skin.

But your mileage may vary.
    Griff

There is no "rule" for cologne application. I would, however, recommend *not* rubbing the fragrance into your skin, as Mike said.

How I spray depends on the particular scent, but for 75% of them I apply one spray directly to the chest and one to the back of my neck.