Code of Conduct

Default Bel Ami...magical potion!

Well, what can i say about Hermes Bel Ami?
    This was one of my first fragrances since discovering Basenotes, and about 30 frags. later, still NOTHING even compares to it.
    I am not good at describing scents, but when Bel Ami is first sprayed on, it hits your nose with a wonderful pungency that screams "here i am" and Êreminds you that this is definately a man's cologne, no mistake about it. Soon after the pungency dies down and the notes of citrus, leather and other spices blend into something magical and super-masculine.
    And the complements! "Wow, you smell great!" "What's that cologne you're wearing? MMM!!...etc.
    I believe De-Odor wrote a great review on this one...search it and check it out!
    In conclusion, i just feel so very passionate about Bel Ami. Yes, there are scents that i love almost as much (Santos Concentree, Tsar) but Bel Ami has a warmth and soul that no other, to date, has been able to match.
    Are you not entertained??? Is this not why you are here??

Serpent

Default Re: Bel Ami...magical potion!

It really is quite a marvelous potion, Bel Ami. Alas, it doesn't suit my chemistry - I have yet to find a scent with leather or tobacco in it that does - but I really do marvel at how much I enjoy it. You see, I generally can't stand big spicy, leathery scents like Bel Ami. Chanel's Antaeus, for example, seems very similar on paper but is just as repugnant to me as Bel Ami is enchanting. It's great stuff.

Forget dogs: Herms is a man's best friend.

8) I too admire this fragrance, but I find Bel Ami somewhat challenging, to wear. For me, ONE SPRAY, is enough. That way it keeps people guessing, rather than to announce its comings and goings. Trouble is . . . my bottle is getting old, and it's still almost full. I may have to . . . restock. :-/