Code of Conduct

Default Found:  Vintage bottle of Guerlain Vetiver

Hello all, I'm relatively new to the fragrance world but I'm exponentially gaining knowledge and interest in the field with many thanks to this wonderful site (and the people on it)! A co-worker of mine recently gave me a bottle of Guerlain Vetiver after we discussed my interest in getting into the perfumery business. He briefly worked in the returns department at Guerlain's headquarters in New Jersey and was given a lot of free stuff. The bottle is quite tall, 110 mL, with dark green plastic on the top and bottom. The bottom says Guerlain Paris, made in France, copyright 1976. It appeared to be unused. I have since worn it twice, and it still smells great! I haven't had a chance to compare it with a more contemporary bottle yet, so I don't know if it still smells correct. At first it is dominated by bergamot and neroli, then the vetiver grass and root come in. It smells a lot like Boucheron PH to me. Is it possible that a twenty-plus year old bottle could last that long without going bad?

sabatar

Default Re: Found:  Vintage bottle of Guerlain Vetiver

The date on the box marks the year this very design saw the light and not when the very bottle in your hand was made.
    I have the exact bottle you're talking about and it was made in 1996. It still smells like the day I bought it. You'll notice that the revamped version is a bit different and lighter but not to the extent you'd lament and regret not having the juice anymore