Code of Conduct

Default Newbie Question about Vetiver

Hi, all. I'm quite new to perfume discussions, but I'm also a bit obsessed with them thanks in large part to Luca Turin.

While on vacation recently, I picked up several new bottles of perfume that interested me. (More about that in another post.) One was Vetiver by Guerlain; I bought a sample bottle. It has a strong sandalwood scent to my nose. I smell little else in the Vetiver by Guerlain once I've worn the scent for a while.

Question: how does vetiver (generic, not the Guerlain perfume) differ from sandalwood in scent? Or are they extremely similar? If they're different, then what does vetiver smell like?

Default Re: Newbie Question about Vetiver

To me, vetiver has a sweet, cool, moist, earth-like scent. Very heavy and damp.

Sandalwood on the other hand is dry, smooth, light and generally warmer. Depending on the blend its in sandalwood can take on sweeter, sharper, or almost cedary aspects. Good sandalwood (the best was and is still from Mysore, India) is much harder to come by now. Since many of the Mysore trees have been used up it's distilled from other places now or produced synthetically.
    Scent is such a lovely, simple pleasure!

MJH

Welcome to Basenotes, Twitchly!

Artisankey's description of vetiver is excellent. Vetiver oil is extracted from the root of a type of grass (vetiveria zizanioides) originally native to Africa and South Asia. Sandalwood oil comes from the sandalwood tree (santalum album) from South Asia and Polynesia. I don't notice much similarity between the two scents, but vetiver can have a distinctly woody quality in certain concentrations and when combined with other notes. The easiest way to "learn the notes" is by sampling the essential oils themselves, but another excellent way (and more fun, to my....nose) is by sampling various fragrances that make a point of featuring the notes in question.