Code of Conduct

Default Lots of questions from a newbie

I'm very new to all of this (17 and I've never used anything but deodorant and sometimes aftershave) so I've got a decent amount of questions. These were mostly taken from the FAQ in the men's section, but the links in the faq don't work anymore-- that's why I'm posting here.

What is the benefit of decanting/Why buy decants?

How do I use samples/How should I use cologne in general?

How do I train my nose?

Do you have any tips about making fragrances last longer?

What's all of this:
    Q) Is Eau de Toilette stronger than Cologne?

A) Technically, yes. Here is a basic list of fragrance concentrations from strongest to weakest:
    Parfum > Eau de Parfum > Eau de Toilette > Eau de Cologne > Aftershave
    There are other concentrations, but those are the most common.

This seems like a very nice community and I'm looking forward to learning a lot on this site. Thanks for your help.

Why So Serious?
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Lots of questions from a newbie

This is a good way when you want to test out a fragrance, instead of buying a full bottle blind with the high cost, buy a decant instead, mostly comes in 1/6oz, 1/4oz, and 1/3oz. This way you'll know if it's bottle worthy, and it cost less. Another benefit is most people here have large collections, so we'd never finish any bottle, a decant will last us very well, so to avoid larger bottles in a large collection, decants are practical and economical, also in a practical sense that they are easy to travel with, just put in your pocket and you're good to go.