Code of Conduct

Question Allergy Issues - Looking for low-synthetic scents

Hello!

I'm new to a lot of this, but here goes. =) I'm looking for suggestions of houses or scents that lean away from the synthetics.

I know that to some extent I can deal with the allergies by going with the parfum end of the spectrum as opposed to the colognes. But I'd like to know what sort of options are available for someone who gets sniffly/headachey around cheap or synthetic scents.

Any suggestions would be great. Thanks!

- Leilah

Default Re: Allergy Issues - Looking for low-synthetic scents

Ayala Moriel (http://www.quinta-essentia.ca/) uses only natural ingredients. But you may be allergic to natural as well as synthetic scents, only way to know is to try

I would suggest gathering up a bunch of samples and sniffing.

From what is said, I hear that Creed uses a lot of natural products. I can't say for sure about that but that is what most say.

Most use sythetic now. It is hard to find hardly any natural components of a scent because it is so expensive and difficult.

Good luck on your hunt.

A synthetic won't trigger an allergy per se any more or less than a natural scent will. It's important to find out which notes trigger a bad response. If you've had allergy testing, you might know which flowers, trees, or grasses give you trouble. If certain synthetics give you headaches, you can at least stay away from scents with aldehydes, and from cheaper frags. I believe L'Occitane deals mostly with natural forms of scent and they have some simple ones, one or two notes, that might work well. You can check their web site. Some small houses specialize in all-natural, try googling all-natural perfumes. L'Erbolario in Italy uses natural whenever possible, if you're in Europe.

agree with l'occitane, they use mostly natural ingredients in their products.

I think E. Coudray works with natural ingredients too, but I am not sure.

Quote Originally Posted by Elf