Code of Conduct

Default Alternatives to "Young" Fragrances?

I'm in my mid-twenties, and I'm just starting out in my career. It seems that most of the fragrances I'm attracted to are described as "young," even "teenage" perfumes, and yet most of the "classics" remind me of women from other generations, and thus seem too old for me. This is further complicated by the fact that people routinely mistake me for a teenager - I'm always getting asked what high school or college I go to, I get carded even when my friends don't, etc. I want to be taken seriously at work, so I don't want to wear a fragrance that will further the impression that I'm a kid. Can anyone recommend a fragrance that is not too dramatic or too weighed down with generational associations, yet not "young" in the vein of Miss Dior Cherie, Coco Mademoiselle, Angel, Live, what-have-you?

Default Re: Alternatives to "Young" Fragrances?

Ooooops! I´m twice your age, and I really like what you call young perfumes... And they suits me well, perhaps because I am still girlish, witch is nice to be in my age!

Two more grown-up perfumes I like are Cristobal by Balenciaga and Prada. Both are orientals, and have some authority. Cristobal is very feminin and Prada is fresh, still a little heavy. They are not the most grown-up frags on the market, perhaps they can suit you.

My eldest daugter, in your age, is very, very fond of Gucci EdP II. It´s a girlish perfume, but with great personality.

And there is Lovely by Sarah Jessica Parker, perfect for work, as it is not in anybodys face, and yet really fun. It´s not so very young, either!

Good Luck!
    Last edited by Margareta; 14th October 2006 at 02:34 PM.
    Faves right now: Chanel No 19, Stella Rose Absolute, L´Heure Bleu, Elixir de Merveilles, Samsara.

Blog Entries

I always find chypres, woods or green florals are great for conveying professionalism at work but they may not be your 'style'. You could try:

Cacharel AnaisAnais
    TBS Japanese Musk