Code of Conduct

Default Essence and Alchemy

I am reading this book Essence and Alchemy and it is a facinating read. I want to learn more about several things it covers, one being the mood and aromatherapy of fragrance notes. I raced off to the health food store to see if Clary Sage and geranium oils actually do tend to relax and balance a person. Well, for this evening yes, I smell deeply each arm and feel relaxed. If anyone knows of a calming and relaxing note for my eleven year old "nervous stomach" easily stressed out son I would be most appreciative. Any other suggested reading?

Default Re: Essence and Alchemy

I'm no expert, but I know that peppermint is recommended to calm a nervous stomach.

Fennel and chamomile are others. But avoid lavender because it contains phytoestrogens and has been linked to abnormal breast development in young boys (source: BBC).

Essence and Alchemy is excellent but the books you need are:

The Fragrant Mind by Valerie Ann Wormwood

The Complete Book of Essential Oils by Valerie Ann Wormwood

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Essential Oils by Julia Lawless

Scents and Scentuality by V A Wormwood is also excellent.
    It's not getting what you want -- it's wanting what you've got.

Loukomi,
    Essence and Alchemy is a great read! If you want to delve deeper into understanding the effect of essential oils on the mood I highly recommend Julia Lawless' "Aromatherapy and the Mind"
    http://www.amazon.com/Aromatherapy-M...e=UTF8&s=books
    It has excellent articles about the subject, as well as detailed use of the essential oils most effective in certain emotional and nervous-system related conditions.

Chamomile and fennel are great ideas for upset stomach and so is peppermint, when the condition is not necessarily stress related.

For the stress itself, based on Julie Lawless other excellent book "The Encyclopedia of Essential Oils", to calm anxiety the most effective oils are:
    Lemon Balm
    Bergamot