Code of Conduct

Default Developing/Educating a Nose

This may more properly belong in the Starting Out discussion (noob here), but after reading so many articulate, passionate, and inspired deconstructions of fragrances on this board, and in the reviews section, I have to ask: How did you all learn to "read" the individual notes in a complex fragrance? Does that come with long experience, much sniffing, training? I can detect the most obvious levels - the smoke in Fumerie Turque (pretty obvious, that) - and some secondary ones - amber in Gris Clair - but I'm far from gettting the hay in Chergui (maybe it's been too long since I've been around freshcut hay. . .) or the oregano, let alone the ashes in Gris Clair.

I'd be curious to hear your experiences, and any tips would be welcome.

Thrax

Default Re: Developing/Educating a Nose

It just takes some time to getting used to. The longer you are around and smelling different things the more you will find new respect for scents that you may not have liked as much before. Along the way you will learn to pick up certain notes and stuff. It don't take "schooling" to learn to pick out these scents. Just some time and effort.

You have to do two things to educate/develop your nose:

1) Try lots of fragrances
    2) Interact on a fragrance board and carry out discussions, read reviews, and form your own opinion.

The most economical way to test fragrances is via samples or decants. Spend time with them, trying to identify notes and the overall flow and construction of the fragrance. If you cannot, or if you have some questions, visit the discussion board, dig up old threads (theres a useful search function here) and see if your questions/doubts have been answered. If not, post a new thread, and start a conversation - lots of Basenoters will be willing to provide their input and opinion.

Thats how you will develop a nose - with experience and fruitful discussions.
    -