Code of Conduct

Default Suggestions to give depth to sweet scent

I am looking for some suggestions - I am relatively new at making fragrance and I created a fragrance for a friend who likes sweet girly scents with lots of vanilla. My current result is a blend of Anise, Violet, a small dose of Rose, Vanilla and Vetiver it is off to a good start, but right now it is sweet like candy and I would like to give it a bit of depth and sexiness. Does anyone have any suggestions? Any help would be appreciated thanks, CeCe

Smile Re: Suggestions to give depth to sweet scent

Quote Originally Posted by CeCe
    I am looking for some suggestions - I am relatively new at making fragrance and I created a fragrance for a friend who likes sweet girly scents with lots of vanilla. My current result is a blend of Anise, Violet, a small dose of Rose, Vanilla and Vetiver it is off to a good start, but right now it is sweet like candy and I would like to give it a bit of depth and sexiness. Does anyone have any suggestions? Any help would be appreciated thanks, CeCe
    I love the sexiness of jasmine absolute..it can be either the sambac which is sweeter and milder or the grandifolium which is more masculine and strong..deeper.

Ylang ylang essential oil is also very sexy known as the "flower of flowers". The flowers are placed on the wedding beds in the Phillipines. Ylang ylang is also softer and sweeter so would go with your theme....

I also add lavender to vanilla blends.....that is a nice combo...floral, soft, sweet........
    JoAnne Bassett, Perfumer
    http://www.JoAnneBassett.com

Default Re: Suggestions to give depth to sweet scent

For the base you could add the following:
    Coumarin, Sandalwood Mysore, Orris, Frankincense

For the heart you could add the following:
    Jasmin, ylang ylang (is also a top note), Hyacinth, other white flowers

For the top you could add the following:
    Black pepper, clove, basil, estragon

Quote Originally Posted by janmeut