Code of Conduct
    Thrax

Default Oil to Alcohol ratios

Looking for EDP, EDT, and EDC strength!

Also what is the most oil that you would want? How dilluted is Parfum strength?

Default Re: Oil to Alcohol ratios

Usualy 20 to 40% of the perfume consists of the fragrance mix (oils and other fragrant materials).

Lightbulb Re: Oil to Alcohol ratios

The difference between perfume and cologne is merely the concentration. the descending levels of concentration are: perfume (30%); eau de perfume (15%); eau de toilette (8%); cologne (5%); and cologne splash (3%). The remainder is alcohol and water, or a carrier oil (for oil-based perfume).

Bye Bye : )

I am new at perfume making. How long should the oils and alcohol 'sit' for until ready? Also, why is my mix so cloudy?

The last batches I tried, I made my blends 25% oils to 75% alcohol. Either this was too strong for me or I used some oils I'm sensitive to, because the end results gave me some rashes (and it wasn't because some of the citrus oils have the photo-sensitive effect). I tend to think it was a little of both--too concentrated, and some oils that my skin reacts to. So, my next batches, I'm going back to 20% oil and 80% alcohol.

Quote Originally Posted by bonniefabian
    I am new at perfume making. How long should the oils and alcohol 'sit' for until ready? Also, why is my mix so cloudy?