Code of Conduct

Smile Looking for help finding a peppery? fragrance

Good afternoon, gentle people of basenotes! Like so many others, I am in search of something to wear.

I'm a college student who doesn't know much about fragrance. I've never had one I liked before -- someone gave me some Hugo Boss for women eau de toilette several years ago, but I hated the way it smelled on me after a few hours. On really bad days it would make me feel sick, so I stopped wearing it pretty fast. I've decided I'd like to find some fragrances I actually enjoy, so after clicking around this forum and the women's fragrances forum last night, I decided to ask for your help.

I thought I wanted something peppery or spicy because when I get out of the shower, the Neutrogena soap I use makes my skin smell peppery for a short while, and I really like that. However, sampling some fragrances at Dillard's today confused me. I really didn't like some of the "spicy" scents the saleswoman sprayed on cards for me. It was as if the spiciness was almost minty, and it made me think of a drugstore for some reason. The fragrance I liked best was Valentino V, but I guess we'll see if I still like it in a few hours. Prada Purple Passion (I think?) got second place, but I don't think it's something I would wear.

Grapefruit is also a favorite scent of mine, so I'm also interested in fragrances that contain it. I saw the earlier thread about grapefruit on the "Female Fragrances" board, and am trying to take that into account.

Any guidance would be most welcome. I'm a 22-year-old woman, if that helps, but not by any means set on buying a "female" fragrance. Thank you so much!

Default Re: Looking for help finding a peppery? fragrance