Code of Conduct

Default Sillage and corresponding numbers?

I am new to understanding perfumes (though I've been wearing perfume for a long time but in an amateur-ish way). I keep reading on this forum about SILLAGE and I have noticed that some people even quantify it, on a scale.

What is SILLAGE? I sort of got from the context that it is the degree to which the perfume forms a cloud around you, or how much it spreads around. A perfume with high sillage would be the opposite of one that only smells close to the skin, is that correct?

If I got this right, could anyone give me examples of perfumes with very high sillage? What is the highest number?

Thanks a lot!

Default Re: Sillage and corresponding numbers?

I'm actually trying to look this up...new..I think you are right. Good sillage means that you can smell it in the aura of the wearer and not just up close. Funny thing, is, often I'm looking only for close to the skin sillage...sometimes if someone elses perfume has GREAT sillage, it's not so great for me!! Also, what's it called when someone hugs you & you smell THEM for the rest of the day!? If you find anything else out, please post it. You've already taght me something by asking your question. Thanks! OH AND ByTHE WAY... zztopp has great commentary on perfumes. You could check out his reviews as he frequently talks sillage...he knows which perfumes have high/low.
    Last edited by BHMum2; 10th January 2007 at 01:47 PM.

Default Re: Sillage and corresponding numbers?

Hi to you syracusa! Welcome to basenotes!

You have it all right, and sillage is the French word for the wake of a ship. I like fragrances that wear close to skin, since too much scent whacking at my nose makes me yearn for an oxygen tank. I'm fond of a few perfume oil formulations for this reason, where a little dab'll do ya, but last a long time.