Code of Conduct

Default Chene or Chergui? + Longevity

Good day all! I hope everybody is well

I'm quite new to fragrances and as such have ended up acquiring many samples from many different houses. I've decided that I would like to purchase a Serge Lutens and can't make my mind up between Chene and Chergui. Like pretty much all the SL fragrances I've smelt I can appreciate them both immensely. Would you consider Chene to be more wearable on a day to day basis? That's what I'm thinking but then I find Chergui to be fascinating so I'm torn. Is it going to come down to the toss of a coin?

Also, I've read that Chergui's longevity is fantastic. How is it for Chene?

Many thanks for any help you can give me here

Default Re: Chene or Chergui? + Longevity

Chergui does have excellent longevity (can't speak for Chene). After a long bout with Creed and L'artisan, I had almost decided that I was simply going to have to live with the fact that some of my favorite fragrances lasted less time than it took to run my credit card to pay for them. Not so with Chergui, luckily. In addition to longevity, it's something of a staple in the 10 best fragrance categories in Bnotes and (for once) not entirely undeserved.

If you decide you really like it, I think you may also want to try Parfums de Nicolai Sacrebleu! It NEVER gets any coverage around here (I think I'm the only person to even review it in the directory) and I find, though both have different notes, that they have a similar sweet, woody, oriental warmth about them that is very nice.
    Last edited by rach2jlc; 14th January 2007 at 09:16 PM.
    Is there any point in saying everything? -Basho

Both have excellent longevity (12+ hours on me). I think Chergui is more of an all year fragrance wherein Chene is more for fall and winter. You can't go wrong with either, but if you're looking for something more multidimensional and multipurpose I would go with Chergui.