Code of Conduct

Question Is there a perfume that smells like this...

Hi there
    This is my first post here, I've been lurking for quite some time.
    DH and I just returned from a vacation from one of the grenadine islands of St. Vincent and the Grenadines. I'm just getting into unique fragrances, and was blown away at the smell of the evening air. I wonder if anyone with more experience would recognize these notes and recommend a fragrance that would take me back to that wonderful place....
    It had an earthy quality (as in jungle soil), sort of smokey. It reminded me a bit of Serge Lutens Borneo 1834, only not as sweet, or even S.L.'s Iris Silver Mist (but not so heavy on the earth note).
    There was a hint of sea air, and a small (and I mean small) waft of tropical flowers.
    Also, it was a bit green, again from the jungles, and the smokey smell was from cooking fires.
    The big note that struck me was the jungle soil smell...
    Any thoughts?
    -I'm not a huge fan of the typical fruity floral, but I won't rule anything out!

Lean in closer, dear
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Is there a perfume that smells like this...

Love it when a "lurker" loses her posting virginity. Welcome, welcome.

What a lovely description you provide. Can you tell us more about the soil? Was it influenced by the smell of clay? Did it seem cool and green or mossy? Was there a sense of decaying wood?

The first thing I thought of was a Demeter scent like Thunderstorm, then Hermes Terre d'Hermes and L'Ombre dans L'Eau.

UPDATE: Look at the reviews for Sel de Vetiver at makeupalley. I just dabbed on a sample of this I received recently. S-N-I-F-F. This might be close--salt sea air, vetiver for vegetation, maybe a hint of smoke, mild, classy. This might layer well with a tropical floral to give you the full effect without smelling like a drugstore aquatic fragrance.

Of course, you MUST keep us up to date on your trials.