Code of Conduct

Default Newbie question: Day and night scents

Hi people!

How do you make the difference between scents recommended for day wear and scents recommended for night wear?.

I am a super newbie in the world of perfumes, so please, forgive my ignorance

Default Re: Newbie question: Day and night scents

As a general rule during the day you are more inclined to be at work so a more professional, less provocative fragrance is called for. In the evening you are more likely engaged in romantic adventures so something romantic and attention grabbing.

Think of the difference in how you dress to go to work vs how you dress to go out on a date and apply these same rules to your fragrance choices.

Take a look at the Basenotes awards. They have categories for Day wear and Evening Wear to get an idea of what fragrances fall into what category:

http://www.basenotes.net/awards/2007
    Last edited by oolong; 26th February 2007 at 07:42 PM.
    In all matters of opinion, our adversaries are insane - Oscar Wilde

You'll also notice that night scents tend to be a little heavier. That is because the night is cool and dark. Something a little more heavy is acceptable, depending on the season and weather situations. It also depends on where you are going, or not going. There are subcategories that you have to think about, on top of day/night in order to come up with a good pick. Some people don't really distinguish the two. It is all personal preference. The common way it goes though is light, agreeable scent for the day and darker, heavier scent for the evening.

during the day you want your fragrance to smell fresh and clean not too overpowering- I would go with Hadrien by Goutal for men and women or a great one would be Wall St by Bond for men. For women i would love to see something like eau de ny by Bond or Fresh Cucumber could work. You would want to stick to something that blends in but makes you smell great.