Code of Conduct

Thread: Decants?

Default Decants?

Let me forwarn you...this is a stupid question...but if I don't ask - I'll never know!

I'm new to the perfume world and this website. So - bear with me! When it says someone is will to "decant"...does that mean give a sample? Are these people vendors or are they just nice people willing to share? Does it cost anything? Should I offer money or something...do they expect something? Also is the sample called a sample or a decant or what?

Clueless...but hoping to gain some information and new perfumes!!

Thanks
    Michelle

Default Re: Decants?

No question that you don't know the answer to is stupid. That is why we have this place.

A decant is actually a bit larger than a sample. It is a way to redistribute fragrances in smaller containers for things like travel, sampling (not the noun 'sample'), and sharing fragrances. Samples are in 2ml vials and are good for just a few applications. Decants start at 5ml sizes and are good for many applications.

This is a great site to find the many ways a decant can look and work: http://www.essentialsupplies.com/

Unfortunately selling decants here has been banned as a result of the ease a person selling a decant can manipulate the contents to make profits. They do cost money, but samples from a store usually do not. They try to promote the fragrances so they'll give you some freebies. Online vedors will charge you about $2 a sample usually.

For some clarification, samples are samples, decants are decants. You may sample frgrances with decants made by a friend but they are still decants.

Hope this helped!

Yes...that does help...thank you so much!

Michelle's series of questions were exactly the ones I had -- thanks, Envy, for the info.