Code of Conduct

Thread: Total newbie

Default Total newbie

So I decided to get into this to add to my plethora of hobbies, why not? I bought a handful of oils that seem to be popular in fragrance making: sandalwood, cedarwood, bergamot, vetiver, patchouli, many more.

When they first came in, I obviously opened each one and gave it a little sniff. They are very powerful, and somehow they all smell the same. Maybe not the same odor but the same bite, I don't know.

I made 4 mixes that I thought would work well together, again, just strong. I think I learned quickly that it's the final diluted product that will smell extremely different(and better) than the concentrated oils. It is through the maturing process where they start to work together to get their final odor.

It seems that we need to have enough foresight(or forescent I guess) to estimate what the final product will smell like. I can say that I'm not really pleased with how it is right now.

Like I said, I have no idea what I'm doing, and think that, like everyone else, I'm just going to learn through experimentation. I'm a little worried that I'm doing this all wrong at the same time. Can someone pat me on the back and tell me everything is going to be okay? haha Can someone explain what happens during the maturing process and what I or any other newbie would need to know?

Cheers,
    Dan

Red face Re: Total newbie

My words of advice are practice, practice, and practice some more. It is like learning to play the piano...It takes time..Get to know your ingredients, learn the strength of the oils, some will take over and others are faint....After they sit and mature ...in 1 month maybe you will smell mostly one base note. Learn from that. Some of the top notes will have faded and you won't smell them.......Note that in a book. Keep records.