Code of Conduct

Thread: new to diy

Default new to diy

heywo
    i've loved commercial fragrances for years now but have only really thought about diy fragrances recently and it sounds great.
    i've heard that oils such as clove and cinnamon can be irritating on the skin... just wondering how much you should dilute solutions and with what.
    also, any combinations of oils that work well?
    thanks, jill

Default Re: new to diy

Hi jillsy,

I'm new to diy as well. Read the sitcky primer. I did, but so long ago I can't quite remember what it said. I also recall like the ParfumsRaffy site on individual notes. They gave an idea of proportion for top/middle/base notes.

I have collected quite a few essential oils, but haven't quite gotten the nerve to start mixing.
    Please, spritz responsibly.

Mix, Shycat, mix! And tell us about it. That's why you have the oils, is it not?

Okay, I ordered some inexpensive little bottles, now I need pipettes...
    Please, spritz responsibly.

Hello and welcome Jillsy!:wave: :wave: :wave:

Cinnamon is one of the strongest sensitizers at all, the best and safest method is not to use it! With clove I would not use more than about 1 drop in 100ml. You can either dilute with 95 proof alcohol or the best oil for that purpose is jojoba.

Some simple and common classical combinations of oils that blend well:

Top: Bergamot, Bitter Orange and Mandarin
    Middle: Rose, Jasmin, Neroli or Ylang
    Bottom: Sandalwood, Tonka Bean, Vanilla

hey thanks... sounds good... now to convince the 'rents that i need perfume oil and straight vodka (and not for drinking)

...or should i use a diff kinda alcohol?

Welcome! Unfortunately I don't know about alcohol sources Downunder. You might google Perfumers' Alcohol. Vodka is not good. Is grape alcohol available at the pharmacy? In Germany it is, but tons of tax on it.

hmmm so how do oils mix in alcohol?