Code of Conduct

Default can anyone recommend a fragrance to me?

i am a college student and i've been shopping around for a new fragrance. i really do enjoy the right one, however my budget is limited and i prefer to just have one scent that i wear every day, something that i identify with very closely. i am finishing up my bottle of L'eau D'Issey, and i would like something very different.

after reading around on this forum, i've decided that a vetiver scent is probably what i'm looking for. i have tried Guerlain's Vetiver and also MPG's Route du Vetiver, and i greatly prefer Route du Vetiver. however, i am wondering if anyone here can recommend me something cheaper or more appropriate.

i dislike most fragrances, to be honest. here are some that i've tried:

terre d'hermes - too old & classic
    thierry mugler cologne - too clean and uninteresting
    lacoste elegance - too complicated and "expensive" smelling
    guerlain vetiver - too citrusy
    john varvatos vintage - more for evening wear only
    dolce & gabbana light blue - too flowery & powdery
    armani mania - alright but ultimately too polite

i am looking for a fragrance that does not make me smell like i'm rich or going to a club, but rather something that is earthy, simple, and natural. i really enjoy the Route du Vetiver and cannot think of any missteps on its part, but again i'd rather pay less. any recommendations are very appreciated!

Basenotes Institution

Default Re: can anyone recommend a fragrance to me?

What a coincidence - I recently fell in love with Route du Vetiver myself. Most vetivers had mildly interested me, but RdV just really swept me off my feet. Can't say enough.