Code of Conduct

Default Fake Chanel No5 Tester From Ebay?

Hello everyone,

What a great site basenotes is! The best fragrance reviews/news site I've seen.

I have a question. I'm new to ebay and not that well-versed in fragrances. I bought a 35ml Chanel No5 parfum tester bottle from there.

According to some on ebay Buyer Guides, testers are the only reliable way to get Chanel fragrances cheaply. However, a lot of people refer to No5 as being "amber-coloured", and as this is the parfum, you'd think it would be especially so. The colour is pale.

Is it possible to fake tester bottles?

(There are no floaters, the lens may be picking up my grubby paws)!

The details on the back are engraved, clearly marked "Tester - Not For Sale". I bought it without a cap, no box either.

Your opinion would be appreciated. Am I being paranoid? It smells ok.

Could tester bottles be decanted with rogue juice?

Thanks. x
    Last edited by Louise; 11th June 2007 at 04:09 AM.

Default Re: Fake Chanel No5 Tester From Ebay?

ebay Chanels are extremely dicey, possibly even tied with Creeds off ebay. This has to do with how legendarily draconian Chanel is about inventory control. It is very rare for Chanel fragrances to fall into grey-market hands, and this lack of supply combined with the high-prices Chanels command makes them an attractive product for counterfeiters.

That said, I do find it strange that someone would bother to fake a Tester bottle, as it is more effort to engrave the marking into the bottle, and a tester will almost by definitition sell for a lower price. It would have to be a mighty crafty crook to know that:
    A. Ebay is full of fake Chanels,
    B. Testers are less likely to be faked, and thus more likely to be considered real by bidders, so the lower price it sells for is offset by inspiring a false confidence and getting more people to bid.