Code of Conduct

Default Which are the most accurate florals?

[ I'm posting this here because there are far more female solifleurs than male, though I realize the gender divide is artificial. ]

I got into a conversation with my mother about accuracy in perfumes. We both agreed that most flowers we'd never smelled an accurate rendition of.
    Recently the accuracy of the tuberose in Carnal Flower greatly boosted my confidence in the ability of perfumes to capture the real thing - though admittedly married to a strong green note there - and I thought I'd search out more.
    Here are some flowers that particularly catch my interest:

Gardenia: I used to have a lovely Gardenia plant - it died - and this flower is one of my all-time favorite scents.

Tuberose: I've found one nice rendition: are there others?

Rose: I've smelled a lot of nice rose notes, but I'm new in the world of rose solifleurs: any suggestions?

Sweet Pea: Caron's rendition is a nice perfume, but it doesn't smell like sweet peas to my nose. Any others I should try?

Peony: Scented peonies a pretty rare now days, but you never know...

Lily: I know there are lots of lilies out there, but I mean the scented kind you find at florists ( sorry, I don't know my botany well enough here! )

Narcissus: One of the nicest scents of spring.

I'm welcome to any suggestions for other nice solifleurs, especially of the unusual or particularly accurate variety.

Note: Though I have no problem with lavender in small amounts, I'm definitely not looking for a lavender solifleur.
    Last edited by Sugandaraja; 5th November 2007 at 02:20 AM.

Default Re: Which are the most accurate florals?

J&E Atkinsons I Coloniali Tender Water China Peony is discontinued, but there are a couple of bottles on Ebay (hard to find, just noticed them on there tonight) and that is the most natural pink peony scent I ever smelled. It even has peony petals floating in the bottom of the splash bottle. Beautiful!