Code of Conduct

Lightbulb Perfumery training kits -anyone used one?

I was looking at The Perfumery Training Kit at the Perfumers World
    (http://www.perfumersworld.com/) and I wondered if anyone has used anything like this to train their nose to identify perfume notes?

I am new to perfumes and I am getting sampler packs from the Perfumed Court and finding fragrances that I never knew existed and can't live without...some are from frangrance groups I never thought I liked. Being the sort of person that tends to go into things quite deeply if interested, I would like to know more.

Is there any way of learning about the fragrance families that people would recommend?

Or is it best just to sniff lots of testers? The problem is I live a long way from any big stores-three hours drive, to be exact!

Suggestions would be welcomed.

Default Re: Perfumery training kits -anyone used one?

Quote Originally Posted by fancynance View Post
    I was looking at The Perfumery Training Kit at the Perfumers World
    (http://www.perfumersworld.com/) and I wondered if anyone has used anything like this to train their nose to identify perfume notes?

I am new to perfumes and I am getting sampler packs from the Perfumed Court and finding fragrances that I never knew existed and can't live without...some are from frangrance groups I never thought I liked. Being the sort of person that tends to go into things quite deeply if interested, I would like to know more.

Is there any way of learning about the fragrance families that people would recommend?

Or is it best just to sniff lots of testers? The problem is I live a long way from any big stores-three hours drive, to be exact!

Suggestions would be welcomed.
    I'm not sure how new you are to this...so I apologize if I'm speaking beneath you...