Code of Conduct

Wink The search for the perfect Vetiver Cologne

Gentlemen - I am new to Basenotes and am impressed by the breadth of experience and knowledge you all possess in the realm of scents and the senses. I bid your help in finding my "perfect Vetiver cologne."

For those of you who know the Caswell-Massey Vetiver Cologne (discontinued decades ago but re-introduced in 2002 for their 250th anniversary and then deleted three years later from their catalogue), you will know my perfect Vetiver Cologne. Redolent of the true vetiver scent, but rounded, powdery and with a burnt sugar/caramel sweetness underlying it.

What I am searching for is a Vetiver cologne that most closely matches it.

Here is my experience with other vetivers:

1. Just because a cologne house names a cologne "Vetiver" doesn't mean I can detect the scent - I tried a few name brand vetivers a few years ago and detected any and everything BUT vetiver (mostly green and wood notes-primarily harsh).

2. I have tried Roger and Gallet's Vetiver - very nice but only disappears in an hour. Also Hove's which is pure oil and alcohol - very harsh, green notes. Floris Vetiver was for me pure sandalwood, no vetiver at all.

What the ideal Vetiver contains and does not contain:

1. It is not harshly green (oak moss, cedar) or sharp.
    2. It is not overly dependent on sandalwood as a base.

3. It is round, warm and sensual.
    4. I have mixed oil combinations that work well with vetiver, among them: rose, verbena, jasmine.

Other favorite colognes that have successfully combined with my natural scent:

1. Caswell Massey Elixir of Love #1 - although marketed as a "woman's" scent, I find it very warm and sensual and the wearer is greatly appreciated by both men and women.
    2. Gendarme - original herbal/citrus formula - fresh and clean and a proven aphrodisiac for both sexes.
    3. Trumper's Ajaccio Violet - a gentle, refined, masculine violet great for winter use.