Code of Conduct

Default "OLD" or "vintage" perfumes on eBay-any good?

Hi,
    I am just getting into perfume so am new to a lot of this, so sorry if it has been asked before.
    I was idly browsing on eBay over the last few weeks and I see that there are various sellers, often with shops that sell all sorts of stuff(not just perfume) who may have a vintage bottle of a discontinued perfume (Lanvin, some Sortilege, maybe) also old bottles of perfumes that are still made and available new-some of the Carons, for example.
    I am sorely tempted to bid for some, as so far all the samples I have tried and loved have been of expensive stuff and I can't afford to keep buying everything I really like in a full bottle!
    Presumably these eBayers pick perfume up at a house clearanceor something similar, and sometimes they are even still sealed in cellophane and have not been opened.
    You can't tell how old the stuff is or how it has been stored. But if the box looks in good condition is it worth buying???
    I guess at the end of the day you punt your money and hope for something beautiful in the bottle and don't worry too much if it is awful - assuming you have not spent a fortune.
    Has anyone done this and got something worth wearing for a good price?
    Or is it a way to get ripped off?
    --------------------------------------
    Urrrrgh!
    Note to self:never by a full bottle of anything I have not smelled first.

(Just tried a sample of Caron's Narcisse Noir and had to wash it off. Imagine buying a bottle of something and finding you hated it.)
    Last edited by fancynance; 9th November 2007 at 03:31 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: "OLD" or "vintage" perfumes on eBay-any good?

It can be hit and miss to be honest.

There has been a number of sellers appearing on ebay with shops selling fakes. They buy up the empty bottles and fill with who knows what.

so first thing is always look at the packaging very carefully.