Code of Conduct

Thread: Help A Newbie

Default Help A Newbie

Hello everyone. I'm not an expert and not exactly creative when it comes to fragrances. I've been using Davidoff's Cool Water for as long as I can remember. I used to receive compliments on it a long time ago but I think by now everyone I'm in contact with has probably gotten used to it. To be honest, I'm kind of getting tired of it too.

I'm going on vacations to the Caribbean this winter (it's kind of warm there) and I really want to try a new fragrance. I've been going to department stores lately and unfortunately haven't smelled anything that caught my attention. That is until I came across an old friend once and I couldn't help but to ask what he was wearing. It turned out to be Fierce. I've done some reading in Basenote before posting this thread and I've learned that Fierce isn't exactly "original" but to my surprise (close to 20 and in college) I had never smelled it before. I've also never been to A&F, although now in retrospect I can recall the scent when passing by the A&F stores.

A friend also recommended me Acqua di Gio but I have never smelled that one so I'm not sure if I'd like it. I'd love to hear any thoughts or opinions about these perfumes. Keep in mind that none of these are popular where I'm going. I'd also like to know what are some similar fragrances and whether they're better or not, etc.

Thanks in advance for any help!
    Last edited by krytical; 6th December 2007 at 09:04 PM.

Default Re: Help A Newbie

I'm not familiar with Fierce, but Acqua di Gio and Halston Unbound for Men are very similar. Do a search for both, and I think you will find some threads that will help you answer your questions. Personally, I like the Unbound, and it can be had for cheap if you're willing to look a bit. Mine was $8.

I have also heard comparisons between Cool Water and Creed's Green Irish Tweed, although I have yet to purchase any Creed fragrances. Hope this helps!