Code of Conduct

Default Woodsy/earthy fragrance recommendation?

Hi!

I'm looking for a new fragrance that has a woodsy/earthy smell to it. Do you have any recommendations?

Other fragrances I've liked: I'm fairly new to the fragrance world, and my favorite scents that I've come across come from Jo Malone. I also liked many of the L'Artisan fragrances (though they are a little pricey). I thought Timbuktu had a nice woody smell, but wasn't quite right for me, but maybe something similar. I'm having trouble going into a department store and finding scents that I like (there's some typical flowery women's perfumy smell that i'm trying to stay away from....) so I'd love some help. I was also thinking about looking into some men's fragrances?

I would love any suggestions. Thanks!

Default Re: Woodsy/earthy fragrance recommendation?

I was going to suggest Timbuktu - one of my favorites! Have you tried any vetiver based scents? Vetiver by Guerlain (usually in men's section) or Vetiver Tonka (Hermes) - there are many, many vetivers and they tend to be earthy and a bit woodsy as well.

Since you are looking for a woodsy/earthy fragrance and are open to men's scents, I will recommend Guerlain Vetiver. It is a fantastic scent that is worn by a few women I know.

Tam Dao is sandalwood, and it's as woody as it gets; it smells like the lumber section at Home Depot. And it's not too sweet, either.
    Anything with a prominent patchouli or vetiver note will do the trick, too.
    Let me think about some specific ones. I'll try to get back to you.

I'll recommend Serge Lutens Chene. Very woodsy and earthy.

BN better than ever
    Blog Entries

Under the men's canopy, Terre d'Hermes is often lauded.

Look for iris or orris root among fragrance notes. These often reveal an earthy quality.

For spot-on realism, Demeter makes scents that smell just as they're named. Dirt smells like dirt, etc.
    Last edited by Quarry; 10th December 2007 at 09:29 PM.