Code of Conduct

Default Eau De Toilet, Eau De Cologne or Eau De Parfum

I am just starting out in this area and have tried a few Colognes, some are good and some ar bad. I have never tried a Eau De Toilet or Parfum. Which do you preferr to wear and why? I am attempting to decide which catagory I want to select for myself. Also Pinaud is a rather strong scent, would that one be classified as a Cologne or a Eau De Toilet? I belive that its an Eau De Toilet.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Eau De Toilet, Eau De Cologne or Eau De Parfum

I think it really depends upon the use and the strength of the underlying scent.

Most male scents are Eau de Cologne or Eau de Toilette and the sillage and lasting powers vary wildly. I have some Eau de Parfums as well, and some have nearly *no* sillage and some Eau de Toilettes will be able to be smelt strongly 4-5' away with the lightest application.
    ===
    [I] recall thinking that the computer would never advance much further than this. Call me nave, but I seemed to have underestimated the universal desire to sit in a hard plastic chair and stare at a screen until your eyes cross. ~ David Sedaris

What I am looking for is something in the moderate sillage and a strong lasting power. Could you please name a few brand names.
    --------------------------------------
    How about Pinaud Clubman. I think this is technically a cologne but has the strong lasting power of the Eau de Toilet.
    Last edited by jbc; 6th February 2008 at 02:35 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Off-Scenter

"Eau de Cologne," "Eau de Toilette," and "Eau de Parfum" refer to the concentration of perfume oil in a given scent, not to the way it smells. Eau de Cologne (EdC)concentrations generally run about 3% - 5% or less, Eau de Toilette (EdT) fall roughly in the 5% - 15% range, and Eau de Parfum at 15% or 20% and higher. Even higher concentrations are typically labeled "Parfum Extract."