Code of Conduct

Default The recent shift in gender distinctions in fragrances

I'm only a newbie here, but having been totally ensnared by the art and majesty of fragrances I have done what I usually do: read as much as I can about it and try as many as I can.

Among the many things I have noticed are the major shift that has taken place in the gender distinctions that until quite recently existed in the products on the market, which I think reflect a change in the western cultural attitudes towards gender roles, ie "femininity" and "masculinity".

An example of this is the incorporation of sweeter fruitier notes and some distinctly floral notes in quite a number of fragrances for men. For instance, Dior Homme has a very floral mid-note range, and Allure is distinctly peachy in its topnotes.

Traditionally, these sorts of notes were the domain of women's fragrances, whereas the citrus top with cedar or patchouli base were considered "masculine".

I'm interested in people's perspectives/opinions on this.

Comments are well and truly invited.

~ Snifferdog.

Off-Scenter

Default Re: The recent shift in gender distinctions in fragrances

I think this observation reads true to some extent. The catch is that throughout the history of scent traditionally "male fragrances" have always had floral notes as important components. It's just that they weren't much talked about. It's likely that most oriental scents for men have significant proportions of rose and/or jasmine notes at their heart. Ylang-ylang and carnation have long been quite common in men's scents as well. Meanwhile, even such a determinedly "masculine" scent as Knize Ten features a prominent note of plum, and all of those traditional Eau de Colognes are fundamentally fruit scents.