Code of Conduct

Thread: Self Tanners ~

Post Thanks / Like

Question Self Tanners ~

I'm really trying to be better about staying out of the sun. With leg-bareing weather almost here, I could sure use some advice on self tanners. I've never used any before. My skin is light olive and I tan easily. I'd also like to use one that is not super expensive...as you know, I like to save my pennies for fragrance purchases!!! I really appreciate your recommendations and advice!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Self Tanners ~

Good question! I'm interested to hear any suggestions as well.

Last summer, I tried Dove Energy Glow and L'Oréal Sublime Glow for fair skin, moisturizers with "subtle" self-tanners. I could see a difference, but it could hardly be called a tan. I hesitate to try anything more intense because the coverage usually ends up splotchy or streaky (no matter HOW MANY blogs and magazine articles you read that tell you how to do it just right, with exfoliation, etc.).

I caved and spent a couple of weekends sunbathing.
    Sniff and let sniff.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for your post Tang...I've been debating the tanning beds...but I'm trying to be "healthy"!

i dont know if you guys would consider Clarins to be a very expensive brand, but i yield really good results with their tanning milk. it gives me, what i'd consider to be, a sunkissed glow, instead of an all-out tan. this is the one i'm using. i love it. best part: doesn't stink! http://us.clarins.com/webapp/wcs/sto...10204_-1_23977

gradual tanning lotions are crap, just a way to make more money. instead of using such gradually intesifying lotions, you can buy a normal one (L'Oreal Sublime Bronze), mix it with your favorite lotion (i love to used scented lotions, cause they tend to cover up the selftan smell quite nicely), et voila, a light tan which you can build up.

you can adjust the ratio selftanner vs. lotion, depending on what kinda result you want. that's the method i prefer on my body.