Code of Conduct

Default The best 'soap' fragrance for a man

I know the soap/clean genre isn't exactly the most beloved around here but as I get older I'm losing my tastes for orientals and sweet scents in general, much to my girlfriends chagrin. I spend most of my day in a professional environment, and it makes sense to me to center my wardrobe around that, not musky or sweet scents that I used to wear when I went out all the time.

I'm knee deep in vetivers right now, and while I appreciate the smell of all the niche scents I've explored, I think I like Guerlain's the best for it's versatility. I think I've temporarily exhausted that genre, so I'm going to tackle another one I have zero experience in.

Soap.

If Fight Club taught me nothing else, it's that soap is important. That being said, what do you think is the best 'soapy/clean' fragrance for a man, that isn't a second skin scent? I'd like a little sillage on with my soap if possible. I've never owned a soapy type scent, the closest I'd imagine would be Bvglari Soir, and that's a stretch at best. Thoughts and recomendations please!

Default Re: The best 'soap' fragrance for a man

open by roger and gallet smells exactly and i mean exactly like dial gold soap...it is quite strong too. It is definitely not second skin.

i think that bulgari pour homme is soapy and musky at the same time, but starts strong but fades to whisper quiet at the end of the day.

Body shop white musk has a clean lather "white" soap smell sort of like ivory soap

Hope this helps
    Current Top 5:

Tabac, Cardinal, Brookes Brothers, Musc Kublai Khan, Andron

My favorite is Czech & Speake #88. Every time I wear it my Wife comments how much she likes it. To her, it smells like expensive French hand milled soap.

Iceberg Twice is pretty soapy in it's dry down. It's pretty tame though, I prefer something a lot more daring.
    Check out my Fragrance Review Blog