Code of Conduct

Default Something with jasmine in it?

Hi! So I've found my new hobby for the next several months (or years), and it's smelling things. The best part is that it's next to free- I just go to department stores like The Bay or Sears and spray little cards with everything I can find. (I even bring a pen to label them!) Anyway, despite several afternoon searches, I still haven't found anything with a good jasmine note in in that I like. The Boy and I both love the smell of jasmine. Smelling jasmine tea makes me feel so happy. But jasmine seems to go all weird in perfumes, or I can't smell it. Mind you, my sense of smell is apparently very poor. I think continuous bouts of influenza damaged my smell receptors.

Some background: I'm totally new to this, so I own, at this moment, one full bottle and one tester. My boyfriend and I favour L de Lolita Lempicka. We love it. It's all orangey-like in my mind (I sometimes see perfumes in colours). I like the citrusy top notes and the vanilla; he thinks it smells "unique," in his words. Plus, apparently it makes him want to taste me. However, my girlfriends had negative, "too sweet!" or "weird!" comments on it.

I also have a little tester of Lancome's Hypnose (EDP), which I really liked at first, but now the passionflower note jars with me; it's really, really sickeningly fruity/sweet/whatever, and I think I have some kind of "boring! fruity! gah!" thing against fruity smells. Hypnose is not BAD, per se, just... wouldn't buy a full bottle. I think. Sort of.

We've also gone on sniff tests of Nina by Nina Ricci (with the so-cute apple bottle), Deep Red by Hugo Boss, and Light Blue by D&G.

Thoughts on Nina: I love the bottle, but what's inside is more important. Liked it at first whiff. He liked the apple note and thought it was sweet. It's very... fresh, clean. Not the tropical kind of fruity. Doable. The girls liked it, too. But no jasmine note! And little lasting power.