Code of Conduct
    Basenotes Institution

Default Youth Dew Amber Nude by Estee Lauder (Tom Ford) - a guys perspective

So, Youth Dew and I go WAY BACK - it was one of the first fragrances that I studied in high school, for a term paper that I did on Estee Lauder (I guess my high school English teacher must have known I was a fragrance enthusiast!). I learned all about Ms. Lauder's entry into the world of cosmetics and fragrances with this scent - how she actually intentionally dumped some on the floor of a department store so that it would stink up the store and customers would ask what it was, just so that the store would stock it. The actual fragrance - well...let's just say that to my non-trained nose I thought it was STRONG, PERFUMEY and smelled like a womens bubble bath.

Anyway, when Tom Ford was given the Youth Dew fragrance back in 2005 I kept my eye on it.

The first time I smelled it (from a tester at the Estee Lauder counter) I actually recoiled from it - it was, SO FEMININE, I thought. I of course could smell the link to Youth Dew and naturally I could smell the amber, but it just seemed so 'lit up' and flat out 'girly' that I almost washed it off when I got home.

Fast forward to Basenotes, one of the many fragrances I explored when I arrived here was fragrances by Tom Ford. I actually made it a point to smell most of Tom Ford's fragrances including all 12 of his Private Blends, the scents he did for Gucci and YSL, and for Lauder. It seemed like a good idea to re-sniff YDAN. Plus many recommended it to me on my Cinnamon Thread (even though it doesn't officially have cinnamon as a note...weird huh?) So, I sampled it, thanks to Tim, and I've given it a couple full wearings. It's slowly wowed me.