Code of Conduct

Default What's that hairspray smell? Oakmoss & sandalwood?

Just wondering what is the major cause of that smell so many dislike (including me) in certain frags.
    Thanks.

Default Re: What's that hairspray smell? Oakmoss & sandalwood?

I'm no expert but I don't think so. O and S are warmer, softer scents. Hairspray to me is more like a sharp lavender and/or citrus. I get that salon chemical smell from the top notes of Vintage Tabarome (no offense to the fans) and the hair/nail supply scent from Acier Aluminium (plus fruity bubble gum!). Then there's Royal Delight...never mind.
    RM

Maybe it's an aldehyde? Oakmoss is one of the main notes of Miss Dior is oakmoss and that has no hairspray scent at all, to me.
    Maybe if you told us which scents you are smelling it in, we could help more?
    I think Chanel #5 has a bit of a hairspray smell at first (that is why I said aldehydes) but it is sooo lovely and clean on drydown.

I have a feeling it could be a strong "white" musk note. Not because musk smells like hairspray, but because synthetic musk is often used to scent hairsprays.
    Last edited by Lady_in_Black; 15th April 2008 at 01:15 PM.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Sniffing around
    I'll stop wearing black when they make something darker

Quote Originally Posted by Lady_in_Black View Post
    I have a feeling it could be a strong "white" musk note. Not because musk smells like hairspray, but because synthetic musk is often used to scent hairsprays.
    My same thought.

Bigsly, can you give us some examples of fragrances that have the mentioned note?

calone maybe or some musk+floral like velvione?

Basenotes Institution

Quote Originally Posted by lannansidhe View Post
    Maybe it's an aldehyde? Oakmoss is one of the main notes of Miss Dior is oakmoss and that has no hairspray scent at all, to me.
    Maybe if you told us which scents you are smelling it in, we could help more?