Code of Conduct

Default Tried D&G The One for Men today!

I needed some fresh air today during lunchtime and saw The One for Men on the shelf. I'm not very good at dissecting a fragrance into the individual notes, but here goes!

The opening was very similar to Michael Kors - Michael for Men, but not as sweet. I also didn't detect any tobacco. The sweetness lessens as time goes by. Good longevity and sillage. The sample says "oriental spicy", but I don't get the spices (yet) To me it's more of a fruity oriental. It's not a bad fragrance, but it doesn't come anywhere close to By Man, which is their best IMHO.

Anyone else tried this one recently?

Basenotes Institution

Default Re: Tried D&G The One for Men today!

When I was at Saks in Beverly Hills last weekend, my husband doused himself with it. Based upon smelling him for a couple of hours post-application, I think your assesment sounds quite right. However, I did smell spice, not tons of it, but yes spice was present. It is fruity and I kept thinking years ago, this would have been released as a womens fragrance.

The problem (as with many D&G scents) is the drydown was pretty boring (musk, perhaps sandalwood, etc.) and uneventful. Having said that I think it should do really well with most teens and young men.

Sur la Plage

I passed by a D&G store this past weekend, so I popped in to see if they had it - and they did. Let's just say, it's not The One for me - probably not even The One Thousand and One. I found it to be rather light and fruity - a very bland and boring fragrance . There was nothing unique or appealing to me that made me even consider purchasing it - even if it were at a discounted price.

I have been completely underwhelmed by D&G's recent men's releases (The One FM and Light Blue PH). I agree with By Man being their best men's fragrance. They always discontinue the good ones......
    Last edited by petruccijc; 14th April 2008 at 09:04 PM.