Code of Conduct

Default Your thoughtful consideration, please.

My 40th birthday is in six weeks. I am planning to mark the occasion with a new fragrance. I'm still pretty new to all of this, and therefore kind of a rube, so go gently if you will.

I was thinking that a man should mark his entry into his 40's with one of the Great Classic masculine fragrances, since one is becoming something of a Great Classic oneself. Then again, I really just want something that smells wonderful and makes me feel happy and sexy. On the other hand (Can you tell my birthday falls squarely in Gemini territory?), a 40th birthday is a marvelous excuse to spend a truly exorbitant amount of money on something like a bottle of perfume.

Things I like: Green smells, grass, citrus, musk, moss.
    Things I don't like: Anything that smells like dessert. Any Creed except GIT.

Things I've worn: In the 80's, it was Halston Z-14 and 101. In the 90's, Lagerfeld Photo, Eternity for Men, Perry Ellis, Obsession for Men, and, uh, Banana Republic Classic. In the last few years, I've worn Xeryus (I was late to that party), Cool Water (although I kind of think if you own one aquatic...), DKNY Red Delicious, Gucci Nobile (underrated!), and right now I'm bouncing back and forth between M7 Fresh and CK Truth.

I'm pretty new to niche stuff, but I've found Bois d'Orage intriguing, as well as Musc Ravageur. Chez Bond is nice enough and I've ordered Bulgari Black and Encre Noire decants from Perfumed Court.

Any input you'd guys would like to offer would be very, very welcome.

Default Re: Your thoughtful consideration, please.

May I suggest Gendarme 20 or Frederick Malle's Noir Epices.

BTW T. Rex, are you a barrister?
    Last edited by silverbullet; 16th April 2008 at 03:34 AM.