Code of Conduct

Thread: Scents and ages

Just Starting Out Sponsor

Default Scents and ages

I'm very new to the world of fragrances, and have stayed away from most of them for most of my life because of one reason, and that is age.

It seems to me that most mainstream scents are very age oriented. There are scents that older people wear more typically, and there are scents that younger people wear more typically.

I figure if there is anywhere that I can get advice on this, here is the place. I am sure that there are many, many scents out there that are not age-specific, and I am looking to hear about some of these.

My issue is that I am eighteen years old, but I am not really a typical eighteen year old girl. I am a mature person and I don't feel comfortable wearing teeny scents or "girly", immature scents. On that note, I still don't feel comfortable in scents that many older women wear, simply because many of them do have that distinct "older woman" smell. I am not yet an older woman.

At the moment I wear a generic french vanilla oil which is from a small local label. Unfortunately it fades very quickly and though I like the smell, I would like to delve further into the world of scents.

A friend of mine has suggested Tom Ford's Black Orchid (he wears the men's version, which is utterly fantastic), and I am considering it, but it may not be exactly what I want.

Essentially, I am looking for a scent which will not define me as either an older or younger woman, but by my personality.

Some words I might use to describe what I'd like to get from a scent: Rich (maybe deep is a better word), quiet, subtle, warm,

Those are the words that come to mind when I think of what I want in a day-to-day scent. I also like the idea of something vaguely sexual, but that may be too much for all-day wear? I dunno, like I said, I'm new to this.

I'm open to all suggestions. Any advice is appreciated.

Default Re: Scents and ages