Code of Conduct
    Blog Entries

Default Smelling Notes...Am I Getting This Right?

I've been posting and reading this board for about 6 months. I'm starting to identify some notes based on descriptions on what I've worn. I've tried about 60 scents in that 6 month span after wearing....Axe or nothing at all for years. Now, I'm confused with how a fragrance is layered and I kept thinking the top and middle notes are always sticking around and I almost could never get to the coveted basenotes. To my surprise, it's happened a few times with only 4 fragrances (Touch, Le Male, TM Cologne, and D&G PH) to my nose. Oddly enough, that was my OLD rotation when I started.

Touch would turn from floral/violet to soft and woodsy. Le Male went from somewhat minty and creamy smooth to bold, dirty, and sweet. TM Cologne went from grassy vetiver with a hint of citrus to earthy and soapy. Then D&G PH went from sugarfree lemonade to smoky and woodsy. These, for some reason, took several hours for my nose to find, pretty much near the end of the life of the scent. I like how scents do a 180 from what they were hours ago. Could be for the better (soft woods from Touch) or it could be for the worse (really REALLY dirty ass vanilla from Le Male one time).