Code of Conduct
    peterl

Default looking to buy my first men's fragrance

Hi,

I'm completely new to the world of men's fragrances and I'm not being helped by my girlfriend who thinks it's funny that I could end up with more bottles on the shelf than her. She doesn't have too much experience with fragrances, as only wears Yves Rocher Ming Shu Fleure Rare, which smells nice on her. My experience was until recently limited to Hugo Boss deo, which turns out to be Hugo Boss Bottled deo (the grey cap). When I bought my last deo, I got a Canali sample that got me thinking. We're getting married and I'd like to have a good fragrance for that occasion that I can reuse for visiting customers afterwards. In other words: not too shocking, but something that gives a hint of quality. Fragrances are an expensive hobby, so I'd like to get one, maybe two bottles to start with.

About what I've smelt before. Hugo Boss Bottled deo is an okay deo which lasts long enough when it's new enough. It doesn't have a lot of character, so it's okay for the office (particularly on days when I bike to work). It doesn't give me the luxury feel that I want, though, and I'd like something a bit darker. The Canali sample smells much more luxurious and complex than the Hugo Boss, but maybe it's because it's an edt instead of a deo. I like it a lot, but I'd like something a bit more heavy and dark. Reading some reviews, I think it's the florals that make it too light for me.

After doing some reading up (a.o. an article about Jean-Claude Ellena), I made a shortlist of a few fragrances that I'd like to try out: Terre d'Hermes, Bulgari Thé Verte Extreme, Ormonde Jayne Isfarkand and Masaki Matsushima M; Men. Unfortunately, the local perfume shop (Ici Paris XL @ Leuven, Belgium) didn't have the latter 2, but I got a spray of the first 2.