Code of Conduct

Question Very New and in need of Major Guidance :)

This is my first time in years that I've had to find a new fragrance. I've worn Jess by Jessica McClintock for years, (over ten), and now I have no idea what to try and find that might be similar or good for me. My husband and I both love the scent of Jess on me; unfortunately, the fragrance is becomming more and more difficult to find. The last bottle I purchased from a secondary institution (ie - ebay, bizrite, etc.) was rancid when I received it. So that cinched the deal for me.....time for a new fragrance.

I've done some research on the Jess fragrance; however, I'm not sure really where to begin on finding a new one that is similar. I've begged and pleaded for samples from some of the perfume houses, and several are sending samples, some however, are not. So I found a decanting web site and requested several samples from them, (at a small price), so that I could actually try out the fragrances with my own chemistry for several days at a atime rather than relying on test papers, etc.

So.... does anyone have any suggestions on research, ideas, types of fragrances that I might look in to????

Thank you in advance for your considerations.

Sincerely,
    Cheryl

Blog Entries

Default Re: Very New and in need of Major Guidance :)

Cheryl,

Welcome to Basenotes. I don't have any experience with Jess, but will throw out some general guidelines based on things I've learned as a new person exploring fragrances:

1. You are right on target with samples. Sampling something on your skin, at your own leisure is the way to go. Smelling something on a paper strip won't tell you how it will play out with your body chemistry. And having the time to see how the fragrance develops/changes throughout the day (instead of just sniffing your wrist at a fragrance counter) will tell you a lot too.