Code of Conduct

Question What makes a scent "powdery"?

This is my first post, and I am new to the wonderful world of fragrances, so I'm asking for forgiveness in advance for my stupid questions.

One of the reasons it took me so long to get into perfumes is because a number I tried in the past turned "powdery" on me. And for whatever reason, the smell of powder makes me gag. Literally. (Actually, it could have something to do with drinking Chanel No. 5 when I was a toddler. ) I'm not sure if it's a body-chemistry thing--Burberry The Beat turned into the scent of Playdough on me, go figure--or just the ubiquity of certain ingredients.

So I was wondering what components and/or notes come across as powdery so that I can skip them and give my gag reflex a rest.

TIA!

Default Re: What makes a scent "powdery"?

Amber.

I remember reading that orris has a powdery quality. I have some strong ambery frags that aren't especially powdery (Carven Homme, Gucci Envy).
    Last edited by Bigsly; 30th June 2008 at 11:35 PM. Reason: spelling error

Blog Entries

I've read that aldehydes can be responsible for a powdery smell. Also I agree about orris root, which has a violets-like scent.

Thanks for responding--you've given me some good stuff to avoid.

I wish amber weren't powdery, because it seems to be in a lot of perfumes. Actually, I've noticed I seem to have a problem with responding poorly to a number of commonly-used basenotes. But who wants a fragrance that's gone after an hour? Guess I'll have to keep working on this one.

Vanilla and iris.
    L'amour fait songer, vivre et croire. Il a, pour réchauffer le coeur, un rayon de plus que la gloire; et ce rayon, c'est le bonheur. (Victor HUGO)

Ah yes, vanilla--thanks for that. I knew I really disliked vanilla in fragrances, but for some reason I never tied it to the powdery aspect.

On a sad note, I just tried Delrae Amoureuse, and I loved it for the first hour or so, but now, it's starting to tend toward powder. Nooooooo!