Code of Conduct

Default New member intro...

Hello! Can I just say how excited I am to have found this place? I've spent the last few hours browsing and this seems like a very well-informed, interesting community. I practically squee-ed out loud.

About me: the classic line on philistinism applies here - "I know what I like". Scent has always, always fascinated me and I bring a total eagerness to the subject, but at the same time I lack a base knowledge of many aspects. For example, outside of obvious notes (e.g. grapefruit, vanilla etc.) I'm not good at identifying single notes, simply because I've never been educated - no ability to match the scent to the name.

My go-to scent is Monyette Paris, which I loved on first-sniff and which I continue to love. Other big favourites include Luctor et Emergo by PotL (this seems unpopular based on what I've read on a number of perfume blogs?), Blu by Bruno Acampora, Jasmin by Bruno Acampora, Kai (the oil, not the EDT), L'Eau d'Hiver, Lea St Barth (especially layered with Monyette and left to melt into the skin for a few hours - vanilla scents seem very tricky to get right and I loooove this one), Jardin sur le Nil by Hermes... I could go on and have surely forgotten some. Gucci seems to make perfumes that agree with my nose, for some reason. The original Rush is lovely.

Unfavourites include, at the top of the list, Thierry Mugler Angel. Just foul, to my nose. Many of my friends love it, though. No accounting for taste. Lolita Lempicka was also fairly awful, and in general I don't go for sharp or loud scents. 'Sporty' isn't a category I'm into.

Any recommendations would be welcome.

Good = soft, subtle, girlish, (but not 'girly' if that makes any sense at all), milky/creamy, whispered not shouted, light but not insubstantial, cashmere and clean cotton, almond, vanilla (not sharp or too-sweet vanilla, though), white flowers, lavender, jasmine, Fall and Winter, tropical (again not loud tropical).