Code of Conduct

Talking Where and how to buy fragrances

Just wondering if anyone has any tips with respect to acquiring frangrances in the most cost effective manner for a newbie lookie to expand his collection. For example, is buying on ebay a good idea or what about sites that sell Versace Dreamer cologne for $29.99 for a 3.3 oz bottle (1stperfume.com), is it real? Thanks!

Default Re: Where and how to buy fragrances

Hi and welcome to BN!

First of all, Im not an expert on perfume sites... But you can read about the one you mentioned in this thread:
    http://community.basenotes.net/showthread.php?t=185700

Second, sampling before buying is always good. In the long run it will save you money, and it is fun also. I recommend a visit to this site:
    http://theperfumedcourt.com/
    Here you can buy and try almost anything and they also offer different beginners kit. I have bought a lot and learned a lot.

Good luck!
    "Wonderfully wild, eminently civilized" - Derby by Guerlain

My swap thread

Blog Entries

Good question. Here are some thoughts from a somewhat-noob:

1. Check out the City Shopping Guide on BN for your local area:

http://community.basenotes.net/forumdisplay.php?f=19

There's info on online retailers below the country subfora. Avoid 1stperfume.com (see the first or second thread after the state/country listings). There's a thread on this here on BN. Some people do OK; a lot don't.
    2. Ebay can be OK if the vendor has lots of good feedback (not just positive votes) and the juice isn't rare or expensive/popular. I've purchased from vendors on eBay with good luck. But I wanted frags that aren't popular or expensive.